My Interview with Vintage Online Boutique Terminology!

1) Can you please introduce your name, your company name and where are you located? How did you come up with the company name?

My name is Latasha Carter and the name of my company is Terminology (Slogan- What’s your definition of style?). Terminology is headquartered in Raleigh, NC and can also be purchased at Kiwi Vintage & Green Home Market in Atlanta, Ga.

I came up with the name looking through a dictionary (I love reading); I stumbled across the word. My first thought was, “How cool”, because the definition is “the study of terms and their uses”. Our slogan is “What’s your definition of style?” Terminology seemed to be the perfect fit because there is no wrong answer, and I wanted to let people know there’s nothing wrong with bending the rules in fashion! I love seeing people create their own personal style.

2) What made you want to start an online boutique store and how did you come about it?

I always knew I wanted to work for myself. My heart has been always in fashion, everything always centered around it some way or another, and I wanted to own my own boutique. My passion for fashion started when I was young; I love expressing myself through my clothes. I love European and Scandinavian fashion. Unusual handmade clothing and reworked pieces really catch my eye. I would shop online or go out of town to buy clothes, because most of the designers I like were not available where I lived or were based overseas. I knew others shared my desire for unique styles and decided it was time to share my fashion finds and new discoveries with the world.

3) Are you a full time online boutique owner or are you involved with other creative ventures?

Since Terminology is an online boutique (as well as housed in Kiwi Market, Atlanta, GA), I also have time for other creative ventures; but nothing that I can speak on….just yet.

4) What can people expect from your company in the near future?

Be on the lookout for more pop up shops/markets. We plan to offer menswear and create and produce an in house brand are in the works. I would love to open up an actual storefront for Terminology someday.

5) What is your ultimate goal for your brand? 

Terminology’s goal is not only to provide the latest in designer clothing, but also to provide exceptional value, quality and impeccable service to our fashion savvy customers. We are all about discovering new talent, designers, vintage finds from all around the world and passing on that discovery to our customers. I want our customers to have a shopping experience that not only inspires people through clothing, but also ignites their artistic mind through a creative atmosphere.

6) What message do you want to give out to the world with your online clothing brand? 

 

Fashion is art; people are able to express who they are and their own individuality without even saying a word. It’s ok to be yourself. Love the skin you are in. I want them to love expressing their individuality through our clothing!!!

 Have you ever gone to a friend’s house and found it so cozy that you never wanted to leave? I love the energy that feeling generates, and I want everyone visiting Terminology either on our website or from visiting our booth at Kiwi Market in Atlanta, GA, to get that same vibe. I want it to be the place where they get excited, where they can see what’s new, what’s happening, what they can discover today, what can they leave with feeling inspired from.

7) Do you have any advice for someone who wants to be in your shoes?  

Dreams really do come true. If you have a vision, God will make a provision. It may seem like it’s not going to happen, but it takes time, patience and faith. Terminology started as just an idea back in 2008 and now it’s 2015 and we’re still not finished with all I have planned for Terminology. Don’t ever let fear of the unknown stop you from living, from growing, or for going after your dreams. Trust the vision and enjoy the process! Keep positive people around you and people that believe in your brand and that are passionate about your brand.

Never sell yourself short. Never stop learning new things. Keep believing and dreaming. If something deep down inside is telling you not to quit, not to give up, keep pressing on. It’s not always easy following your dreams, but it’s nothing more fulfilling than waking up each day doing what you were born to do.

If people want to get in contact with you, what would be the best way?

 

Latasha@shopterminology.com

 Website:http://www.shopterminology.com/ 

Social Media Networks:

https://www.facebook.com/shopterminology

https://twitter.com/shopterminology

https://www.pinterest.com/shopterminology/

http://shopterminology.tumblr.com/

https://instagram.com/shopterminology/

 

 

One thought on “My Interview with Vintage Online Boutique Terminology!

  1. Pingback: My Recap of Guys & Dolls Vintage Pop-up Event! | THE ShOOt Women Fashion

Leave a Reply

